san antoniodown payment assistancefirst-time homebuyertexaship program

San Antonio Homebuyer Assistance Programs in Texas (2026)

Compare 2026 San Antonio down payment assistance, including HIP 80 and HIP 120 status, NHSSA loans, HUD income limits, and statewide Texas programs.

Phil Ganz
Written by
Phil Ganz
Ryan Skerritt
Reviewed by
Ryan Skerritt
Fact Checked
Updated October 26, 2026·17 min read
Couple on the porch of a restored limestone cottage in a historic San Antonio neighborhood

Saving enough cash for a down payment and closing costs is often the biggest hurdle for renters trying to buy a home in the San Antonio area.

This 2026 guide breaks down every verified San Antonio homebuyer assistance program, including the City of San Antonio Homeownership Incentive Program (HIP 80 and HIP 120), Neighborhood Housing Services of San Antonio (NHSSA), local affordable homebuilders, and statewide Texas options.

Check Your San Antonio Home Purchase Eligibility

You will learn what is known about each program's application status, exact income and purchase price limits for Bexar County and surrounding areas, and how to get matched with a participating lender.

San Antonio Homebuyer Assistance Programs at a Glance (2026)

San Antonio buyers can look at city programs, regional nonprofit loans, affordable homeownership developments, and statewide down payment assistance. Because rules, funding, and limits change, always verify current terms with the program administrator or a participating lender before making an offer.

ProgramAssistance AmountStructure & ForgivenessEligible AreaKey Eligibility Rules
City of San Antonio HIP 80$1,000 to $30,0000% interest, no-payment second loan; forgiven over 5 yrs ($1k–$15k) or 10 yrs ($15,001–$30k)San Antonio city limitsFirst-time buyer; at or below 80% AMI; 6-mo city residency; no city credit minimum; check current intake status with NHSD
City of San Antonio HIP 120$1,000 to $15,0000% interest, no-payment second loan; 75% forgiven over 10 yrs, 25% due at saleSan Antonio city limitsFirst-time buyer; at or below 120% AMI; 6-mo city residency; no city credit minimum; check current intake status with NHSD
NHSSA Down Payment AssistanceUp to $12,000Deferred second lien (rate and forgiveness terms not stated on program page)Bexar, Comal, Wilson, Medina, Atascosa, Bandera, Kendall, and Guadalupe countiesFirst-time buyer; 580+ credit score; within NHSSA's published income limits
Habitat for Humanity SA & Guadalupe Valley0% interest first mortgage (15 to 25 yrs)New 3- and 4-bedroom homes around $145,000; payments capped at 30% of incomeLive in Bexar County or an adjacent county300 hours of sweat equity; homebuyer education classes
Opportunity Home San Antonio (MIHP)Homes priced starting in the $160s ($165k–$185k on current listings)New 1-story homes with 10-year appreciation recaptureWestside San Antonio subdivisionsFirst-time buyer; Bexar County resident; at or below 80% AMI
TDHCA (My First / My Choice Texas Home)2% to 5% of total loan amount0% second lien (30-year deferred repayable or 3-year forgivable, depending on daily availability)Statewide (including all of Bexar County)620+ credit score; income and price limits vary by program
TSAHC (Homes for Texas Heroes / Home Sweet Texas)2% to 5% of total loan amount (4%–5% on Bond DPA)Grant, 3-year forgivable second lien, or 30-year repayable Bond second lienStatewide (including all of Bexar County)620+ credit score (640+ for conventional); first-time buyer not required for Non-Bond DPA

Note: No official Bexar County homebuyer down payment assistance program was found, and the San Antonio Housing Trust does not list a down payment program of its own. The Housing Trust refers buyers to HIP 80, NHSSA, Habitat for Humanity, Opportunity Home, and TDHCA.

City of San Antonio Homeownership Incentive Program (HIP 80 & HIP 120)

The City of San Antonio Homeownership Incentive Program (HIP) is administered by the City of San Antonio Neighborhood and Housing Services Department (NHSD). It is divided into two tiers based on household income: HIP 80 (for households at or below 80% of Area Median Income) and HIP 120 (for households at or below 120% of Area Median Income).

Important 2026–2027 Funding and Application Status

Before you build your homebuying budget around HIP, you need to know the exact status of the program's funding.

An archived capture of the official City of San Antonio HIP page from July 25, 2026 displayed a notice stating that the HIP 80 and HIP 120 programs were not accepting new applications for FY 2026, and that if renewed by City Council, funding would become available October 1, 2026. As of October 26, 2026, that pause banner has been removed from the live city webpage, which continues to display the program details, income tables, and five-step application process.

On the budget side, the City of San Antonio's FY 2027 Proposed Budget (presented August 13, 2026) included $37.7 million for affordable housing covering rental assistance, home repairs, affordable homes, and help with down payments. City Council adopted the FY 2027 budget on September 17, 2026, and a District 5 statement noted an increase to the affordable housing budget of $4.8 million. However, no official city document names a specific HIP line item or confirms that HIP application intake reopened on October 1, 2026.

Because the live page does not state whether applications are currently being accepted, buyers and their lenders should check current availability directly with NHSD at 210-207-6459 or downpaymentassistance@sanantonio.gov (or by calling 3-1-1 / 210-207-6000) before applying.

Check Your San Antonio Home Purchase Eligibility

How HIP 80 Works

HIP 80 is funded through federal HOME dollars and serves households earning at or below 80% AMI. According to the city's live HIP page and the HIP 80 Procedural Guide (dated October 2024):

  • Assistance Amount: $1,000 to $30,000 toward the lender-required down payment and eligible purchase costs (including up to a 1% origination fee and up to 2 discount points).
  • Loan Structure: 0% interest second loan with no monthly payments.
  • Forgiveness Terms: Loans of $1,000 to $15,000 are forgiven over 5 years (one-fifth forgiven each year). Loans of $15,001 to $30,000 are forgiven over 10 years (one-tenth forgiven each year).
  • Repayment Rules: The remaining balance becomes due if you sell, transfer title, or complete a cash-out refinance during the forgiveness period. A no-cash-out refinance is permitted.

How HIP 120 Works

HIP 120 is funded through the city's General Fund and serves moderate-income households earning up to 120% AMI. According to the city's live HIP page and the HIP 120 Procedural Guide (dated October 2024):

  • Assistance Amount: $1,000 to $15,000, provided on a first-come, first-served basis depending on funding availability.
  • Loan Structure: 0% interest second loan with no monthly payments.
  • Forgiveness and Perpetual Portion: 75% of the loan is forgiven over 10 years. The remaining 25% is perpetual—it is not forgiven and remains a 0% loan that must be repaid when the home is eventually sold.
  • First-Mortgage Rate Rule: The HIP 120 guide says the fixed rate on your first mortgage "cannot exceed 2% of the current market rate." Ask your lender and NHSD how this rule applies to your loan.

HIP 80 & HIP 120 Eligibility Requirements

The eligibility rules below come from the City of San Antonio's October 2024 procedural guides for HIP 80 and HIP 120. Because these guides predate FY 2027, buyers should confirm with NHSD that no rules have changed:

  • First-Time Homebuyer: You cannot have held an ownership interest in residential property during the past 3 years. Exceptions are available for displaced persons and recently divorced buyers with required documentation. Under the HIP 120 guide, owning inherited property makes a buyer ineligible.
  • San Antonio Residency: You must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident alien and have at least 6 months of San Antonio residency.
  • Credit Score & Bankruptcy: No minimum credit score is required by the city (though you must meet your first-mortgage lender's credit requirements). Chapter 7 bankruptcy requires a 5-year waiting period from discharge; Chapter 13 requires 2 years.
  • Debt-to-Income (DTI) Ratio: Maximum 33% front-end DTI (housing payment divided by gross income) and 45% back-end DTI (total monthly debt divided by gross income).
  • Earnest Money Deposit: You must put down a minimum of $500 in earnest money, receipted by the title company.
  • Homebuyer Education: You must complete an 8-hour HUD-approved homebuyer education course through NHSD or NHSSA and submit the certificate before closing.
  • First Mortgage & Occupancy: You must qualify for an FHA, VA, or conventional first mortgage and occupy the home as your homestead throughout the loan term. Owner-financed loans are not eligible.
  • Property Rules (HIP 80 guide): The home must be located within San Antonio city limits (verified on bcad.org). Eligible properties include single-family homes, condos, and manufactured homes on owned land or with a lease covering the loan term. The property must pass a city UPCS/HIP inspection, homes built before 1978 require a lead-based paint visual assessment, and homes in a flood plain must maintain flood insurance for the term of the loan.
  • Asset Rules (HIP 80 guide): Household assets above $5,000 are imputed as income when calculating eligibility.

Conflicting HIP Purchase Price Limits

The City of San Antonio's live HIP webpage and its October 2024 procedural guides list slightly different maximum sales price caps. You and your lender should confirm with NHSD which cap governs your contract:

Program & Property TypeLive City Webpage CapOct 2024 Procedural Guide Cap
HIP 80 — Existing Home$260,000$263,000
HIP 80 — New Construction$284,000$278,000
HIP 120 — Existing Home$301,700$305,200
HIP 120 — New Construction$332,800$325,800

How to Apply for HIP

Buyers do not submit a HIP application directly to the city. According to the city's HIP page, the five-step process works like this:

  1. Qualify for a first-lien mortgage through a lender.
  2. Complete the 8-hour homebuyer education class through NHSD or NHSSA.
  3. Confirm that the home you want to buy is inside San Antonio city limits.
  4. Make the minimum $500 earnest money deposit.
  5. Your lender works directly with NHSD to request and process the HIP loan.

Check Your San Antonio Home Purchase Eligibility

San Antonio HUD FY2026 Income Limits by Household Size

HUD publishes FY 2026 income limits for San Antonio down payment assistance buyers under the San Antonio-New Braunfels, TX HUD Metro FMR Area (which covers Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, and Wilson counties). According to HUD USER, the FY 2026 median family income for the metro area is $100,600.

The table below shows the official HUD FY 2026 income limits for 30%, 50%, and 80% AMI, along with the ~120% AMI limits published by the City of San Antonio (for HIP 120) and NHSSA. Note that the city's HIP page labels the 120% row as "2025" limits, while NHSSA's flyer labels the exact same dollar figures as "Effective: June 1, 2026." Because HUD does not publish a 120% AMI row, confirm the active table with your lender. All of these are the current published figures and can change each year, so confirm them with the program or a participating lender before you apply.

Household Size30% AMI (HUD Extremely Low)50% AMI (HUD Very Low)80% AMI (HIP 80 & Opportunity Home)~120% AMI (HIP 120 & NHSSA)
1 Person$21,150$35,250$56,350$84,500
2 Persons$24,200$40,250$64,400$96,600
3 Persons$27,320$45,300$72,450$108,650
4 Persons$33,000$50,300$80,500$120,700
5 Persons$38,680$54,350$86,950$130,400
6 Persons$44,360$58,350$93,400$140,050
7 Persons$50,040$62,400$99,850$149,700
8 Persons$55,720$66,400$106,300$159,350

Neighborhood Housing Services of San Antonio (NHSSA) Down Payment Assistance

If you are buying outside San Antonio city limits or want an alternative to city funding, Neighborhood Housing Services of San Antonio (NHSSA) (NMLS #337024) offers its own First-Time Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance program.

According to NHSSA's program page and 2026 flyers, here is how the program works:

  • Assistance Amount: Up to $12,000 for down payment and closing costs, structured as a deferred second lien. The exact amount is determined together with your lender after pre-approval. (NHSSA's website does not state the interest rate or forgiveness terms on the second lien, so confirm those details directly with NHSSA.)
  • Eligible Counties: Available across eight counties: Bexar, Comal, Wilson, Medina, Atascosa, Bandera, Kendall, and Guadalupe.
  • Minimum Credit Score: 580.
  • Buyer Requirements: You must be a first-time homebuyer, a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, qualify for a first-lien mortgage through a participating lender, and complete a HUD-approved homebuyer education course.
  • 2026 Income Limits: Effective June 1, 2026, NHSSA uses the ~120% AMI limits shown in the table above ($84,500 for a 1-person household, $96,600 for 2, $108,650 for 3, $120,700 for 4, up to $159,350 for 8).
  • How to Contact NHSSA: Located at 851 Steves Ave., San Antonio, TX; phone (210) 533-6673 ext. 306.

Affordable Homeownership Programs in San Antonio

In addition to traditional second-mortgage down payment assistance, two local organizations build and sell affordable homes directly to qualifying first time home buyer san antonio applicants.

Habitat for Humanity of San Antonio & Guadalupe Valley

According to Habitat for Humanity of San Antonio & Guadalupe Valley, the organization is currently accepting homebuyer applications for listed communities, including the Melody Methodist build area.

  • Home Prices & Financing: New 3- and 4-bedroom homes are priced at about $145,000 and financed with a 0% interest, 15-to-25-year mortgage. Monthly payments are capped at no more than 30% of household income and start as low as $900 a month.
  • Sweat Equity & Education: Buyers must complete 300 hours of sweat equity (working on their own home and other Habitat homes) along with required homebuyer education classes.
  • Service Area: Applicants must live in Bexar County or an adjacent county.
  • Income & Credit: Habitat's application page does not state specific income limits or credit score minimums.
  • How to Apply: Complete the online pre-qualification Mortgage Counseling Questionnaire or apply in person at the San Antonio office (311 Probandt, 210-223-5203) or Seguin office (256 W. Court St., 830-401-0422).

Opportunity Home San Antonio: Middle Income Homeownership Program (MIHP)

Opportunity Home San Antonio (formerly the San Antonio Housing Authority, or SAHA) runs the Middle Income Homeownership Program (MIHP), which sells newly constructed one-story homes to qualifying first-time buyers.

  • Homes & Prices: The program covers 25 homes across three Westside subdivisions: Villa De Fortuna (5 homes), Palm Lake (11 homes), and Sunflower (9 homes). Homes are priced starting in the $160s; recent listings on Villa Linda ranged from $165,000 to $185,000, with two homes ($165,000 and $167,000) listed as available and the remainder sold or under contract.
  • Eligibility Rules: You must be a first-time buyer (no home ownership in the past 3 years), a Bexar County resident, earn at or below 80% AMI (matching the HUD FY 2026 80% table above), qualify for an FHA, VA, or conventional mortgage, and complete an Opportunity Home–approved homebuyer class.
  • Occupancy & Recapture: The home must be owner-occupied and carries a 10-year appreciation recapture provision.
  • Contact: Reach Opportunity Home Development Services at 210-477-6023 or developmentservices@homesa.org. (Note: Opportunity Home's separate Westside Reinvestment Initiative accepted offers on seven houses from June 22 to June 28, 2026, and that window has closed.)

Check Your San Antonio Home Purchase Eligibility

Statewide Texas Programs Available in San Antonio (TDHCA & TSAHC)

Because city programs have strict geographic boundaries, lower purchase price caps, and funding that has been paused before, many San Antonio buyers use statewide Texas first-time homebuyer grants and programs administered by the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA) and the Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation (TSAHC).

Interest rates for both TDHCA and TSAHC programs are set daily by each agency; a participating lender can quote today's rate for your exact loan setup. Buyers apply for these programs through a participating lender—our team helps you check your eligibility, compare options, and get connected.

TDHCA Programs in Bexar County

TDHCA offers two primary first-mortgage and down payment assistance programs, plus a federal tax credit:

  1. My First Texas Home (MFTH): For first-time buyers (plus qualified veterans and buyers purchasing in targeted census tracts). Offers 2% to 5% of the total loan amount in down payment and closing cost assistance as a 0% interest second lien—structured as either a 30-year deferred repayable lien or a 3-year deferred forgivable lien (depending on daily Rate Notice availability; on October 26, 2026, the 3-year forgivable option was offered only under the MFTH + MCC Combo). Available with 30-year fixed FHA, VA, and USDA loans (no conventional loans). Requires a 620 minimum credit score.
  2. My Choice Texas Home (MCTH): Open to both first-time and repeat buyers, with no purchase price limit. Provides 2% to 5% of the total loan amount as a 30-year deferred repayable or 3-year forgivable 0% second lien. Works with FHA, VA, USDA, and HFA conventional loans (Fannie Mae HFA Preferred and Freddie Mac HFA Advantage). Requires a 620 minimum credit score.
  3. Texas Mortgage Credit Certificate (TXMCC): Provides a federal income tax credit equal to 15% of the mortgage interest you pay each year (per TDHCA's October 26, 2026 Rate Notice), with no $2,000 annual cap at the 15% credit rate. Can be combined with My First Texas Home (with a $400 issuance fee, waived for military) or used as a standalone MCC with an outside first mortgage (which cannot be combined with a bond loan or outside DPA).

TSAHC Programs in Bexar County

TSAHC operates two statewide programs that offer 2% to 5% of the total loan amount in down payment assistance as either an outright grant (for FHA, VA, and USDA loans; does not need to be repaid after six months from first-lien closing per TSAHC guidelines) or a 3-year deferred forgivable second lien (for government and HFA conventional loans), plus a 4% or 5% 30-year deferred repayable Bond DPA second lien when available:

  1. Homes for Texas Heroes: For full-time public K-12 teachers, teacher aides, school librarians, school counselors, school nurses, peace officers, firefighters, EMS personnel, corrections and juvenile corrections officers, county jailers, public security officers, nursing and allied health faculty, and qualifying veterans (a definition that includes certain active-duty service members stationed in Texas). Includes a free TSAHC MCC ($400 issuance fee waived) when combining Non-Bond DPA with an MCC.
  2. Home Sweet Texas Home Loan Program: Open to low- and moderate-income buyers who meet the county income limit, with no profession requirement.

For both TSAHC programs, you do not need to be a first-time buyer when using Non-Bond DPA or No DPA without an MCC, and there is no purchase price limit on Non-Bond DPA used alone. Minimum credit scores are 620 for FHA, VA, and USDA loans (640 for manufactured homes and FHA manual underwriting) and 640 for HFA conventional loans.

According to TSAHC's guidelines (revised September 9, 2026), TSAHC also allows layering other subsidy programs if they meet agency and master servicer (Lakeview) guidelines—and when you use TSAHC's grant option or No-DPA first mortgage, second-lien assistance from city or county programs may be combined in certain cases. Ask your participating lender whether a local San Antonio second lien can be paired with your first mortgage.

2026 TDHCA & TSAHC Income and Purchase Price Limits for Bexar County

The table below shows the current published Bexar County limits for TDHCA (effective July 13, 2026) and TSAHC (from TSAHC's County Income Limits tool, which shows no effective date). These figures can change, so confirm them with a participating lender. For a broader look across the state, see our guide to Texas homebuyer income and purchase price limits.

Program & Option (Bexar County)Income Limit (1–2 Persons)Income Limit (3+ Persons)1-Unit Purchase Price Limit
TDHCA My First Texas Home / MCC (Non-Targeted)$104,725$120,434$583,580
TDHCA My First Texas Home / MCC (Targeted Tract)$125,670$146,616$713,265
TDHCA My Choice Texas Home — FHA / VA / USDA$178,033 (any household size)$178,033 (any household size)No purchase price limit
TDHCA My Choice Texas Home — Conventional (at/below 80% AMI)$81,280 (any household size)$81,280 (any household size)No purchase price limit
TDHCA My Choice Texas Home — Conventional (above 80% AMI)$172,720 (any household size)$172,720 (any household size)No purchase price limit
TSAHC Home Sweet Texas — Non-Bond DPA (Gov't or Conv. above 80%)$157,358 (any household size)$157,358 (any household size)No purchase price limit
TSAHC Homes for Texas Heroes — Non-Bond DPA (Gov't or Conv. above 80%)$178,339 (any household size)$178,339 (any household size)No purchase price limit
TSAHC Conventional at/below 80% AMFI (Both Programs)$81,280 (any household size)$81,280 (any household size)No purchase price limit (without MCC)
TSAHC Bond DPA (Both Programs, Non-Targeted)$83,924$83,924$583,581
TSAHC with MCC (Non-Targeted)$104,905$120,641$583,581
TSAHC with MCC (Targeted Tract)$121,800$142,100$713,265

Note: If you are buying a duplex in the San Antonio MSA with TDHCA My First Texas Home, the 2-unit purchase price limit is $747,066 in non-targeted areas and $913,081 in targeted areas.

Check Your San Antonio Home Purchase Eligibility

How to Choose the Right San Antonio Program for Your Situation

With several local and statewide options on the table, the right fit comes down to four questions:

  1. Where is the home located? If the property is outside San Antonio city limits, HIP 80 and HIP 120 do not apply. Look to NHSSA (which covers 8 counties) or statewide TDHCA and TSAHC programs.
  2. What is the purchase price? City of San Antonio HIP price limits for existing homes are $260,000 or $263,000 (HIP 80) and $301,700 or $305,200 (HIP 120), depending on which city source you read. If you are shopping above the HIP caps, TDHCA My First Texas Home ($583,580 non-targeted limit in Bexar County), TDHCA My Choice Texas Home (no price limit), or TSAHC Non-Bond DPA (no price limit) will give you far more room.
  3. What is your credit score? If your middle credit score is below 620, TDHCA and TSAHC first-mortgage programs, which require at least 620, are out of reach until you build your credit. NHSSA accepts scores down to 580, and the City of San Antonio sets no minimum credit score of its own for HIP (subject to first-mortgage lender approval and current city funding availability). You can also review standard Texas FHA loan requirements and overall requirements to buy a house in Texas to see what first-lien lenders look for.
  4. Have you owned a home in the last 3 years? Repeat buyers are excluded from HIP, NHSSA, Opportunity Home, and TDHCA My First Texas Home (unless exempt). However, repeat buyers can still use TDHCA My Choice Texas Home or TSAHC Non-Bond DPA.

Once you close on your primary residence in Bexar County, review the Texas homestead exemption. Military buyers with a service-connected disability should also review the Texas disabled veteran property tax exemption.

Next Steps for San Antonio Homebuyers

Most San Antonio down payment assistance programs require you to work through a lender and complete a homebuyer education course before closing. Because the City of San Antonio's HIP 80 and HIP 120 programs were paused for FY 2026 and their FY 2027 intake status is not stated on the city's live website, start by verifying local funding with NHSD while comparing NHSSA, TDHCA, and TSAHC side by side.

Our team can help you check your income and credit against current San Antonio and statewide guidelines, compare Texas home loan options, and get connected with a participating lender.

Check Your San Antonio Home Purchase Eligibility

Ready to Get Started?

Check your eligibility in under 2 minutes. No credit pull, no obligation.

Get our Texas updates in your Google feed

Add Make Texas Your Home as a preferred source to see our rate, grant, and program updates more often in Google Search.

Common Questions

Quick answers to the questions Texas homebuyers ask about this topic.

Talk to an Expert

An archived July 2026 notice on the City of San Antonio's website stated that HIP 80 and HIP 120 were not accepting new applications for FY 2026, with funding potentially returning October 1, 2026 if renewed by City Council. Although the pause banner has since been removed from the live page and the adopted FY 2027 budget includes funding for down payments, no official city document confirms that HIP intake has reopened. Buyers should contact the Neighborhood and Housing Services Department at 210-207-6459 or downpaymentassistance@sanantonio.gov to verify current availability before applying.

According to the City of San Antonio's HIP page, HIP 80 offers $1,000 to $30,000 as a 0% interest, no-payment second loan that is forgiven over 5 or 10 years depending on the amount. HIP 120 offers $1,000 to $15,000 as a 0% interest second loan where 75% is forgiven over 10 years and 25% remains a perpetual loan due when the home is sold.

Under the City of San Antonio's official procedural guides for HIP 80 and HIP 120, no minimum credit score is required by the city, though you must still qualify for a first mortgage with a lender. Neighborhood Housing Services of San Antonio (NHSSA) requires a minimum credit score of 580 for its down payment assistance loan. Statewide TDHCA and TSAHC programs require a minimum credit score of 620 for government loans or 640 for TSAHC conventional loans.

Yes, while HIP 80 and HIP 120 require the property to be inside San Antonio city limits, other programs cover the surrounding region. NHSSA offers up to $12,000 in assistance across Bexar, Comal, Wilson, Medina, Atascosa, Bandera, Kendall, and Guadalupe counties. Statewide programs from TDHCA and TSAHC are also available throughout Bexar County and all surrounding counties.

No official Bexar County homebuyer down payment assistance program was found, so do not count on a county-run option. Buyers outside San Antonio city limits can look at NHSSA, which serves Bexar and seven nearby counties, or statewide programs through TDHCA and TSAHC.

Income limits depend on the program and your household size. For 80% AMI programs like HIP 80 and Opportunity Home, the HUD FY 2026 limit ranges from $56,350 for a one-person household to $80,500 for a four-person household, up to $106,300 for eight people. For 120% AMI programs like HIP 120 and NHSSA, published limits run from $84,500 for one person to $120,700 for four people, up to $159,350 for eight people. These are the current published figures, so confirm them with the program or a participating lender.