
Protecting a Texas community on rotating shifts doesn't leave much free time to sort through mortgage guidelines, county income caps, and down payment grant rules.
This guide breaks down the top Texas first responder home loans and assistance options for 2026, including Homes for Texas Heroes, HUD's 50%-off Good Neighbor Next Door program, city programs in San Antonio and Frisco, and VA and Texas Veterans Land Board loans.
Check Your Texas Heroes Home Loan Eligibility
You will see which public safety roles qualify for each program, how the down payment assistance is structured, and how to compare and combine your options through a participating lender.
Comparing Texas First Responder Home Loans and Programs
Most Texas police officers, firefighters, EMTs, and corrections officers buy a home using a standard 30-year fixed mortgage—such as an FHA, VA, USDA, or conventional loan—and pair it with a state, federal, or city benefit designed for public safety professionals. Here is how the main programs compare in 2026.
| Program | Who Qualifies (Public Safety) | Assistance / Benefit | First-Time Buyer Required? | Credit Score Minimum |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Homes for Texas Heroes (TSAHC) | Full-time peace officers, firefighters, EMS, county jailers, TDCJ/TJJD corrections, public security officers, veterans | 2% to 5% of total loan amount (grant or 3-year forgivable 2nd lien; 4%–5% on 30-year Bond 2nd lien) + free MCC with Non-Bond DPA | No for Non-Bond DPA or No DPA; Yes for Bond DPA and MCC (waived in Targeted Areas and for qualified veterans) | 620 (FHA, VA, USDA); 640 (HFA conventional and manufactured homes) |
| HUD Good Neighbor Next Door (GNND) | Full-time sworn law enforcement and government-employed firefighters/EMTs serving the locality | 50% off list price on HUD homes in revitalization areas ($100 down with FHA) | No, but neither buyer nor spouse may have owned a home in the prior year | Not set by GNND |
| San Antonio FRHAP | Uniformed and cadet SAPD and SAFD employees | Up to $20,000 ($40,000 in CRAG area) 0% second loan, forgiven 1/10th per year over 10 years (current funding unconfirmed) | Yes (first-time buyer or no ownership in prior 3 years) | Not stated in the city policy (fixed-rate FHA 203(b), VA, or conventional first lien required) |
| Frisco Targeted DPA | Households with an adult working full-time for the City of Frisco or Frisco ISD for at least 6 months | Up to $10,000 forgivable loan for down payment and closing costs | Generally first-time buyers | Not stated on the city page |
| Texas VLB Veterans Housing Assistance Program (VHAP) | Texas residents 18+ who are active duty, Texas National Guard, reservists with 20 qualifying years, or veterans with 90+ active days | Fixed-rate home loan up to $832,750, with a discounted rate for a 30%+ service-connected disability | Not stated on the VLB page | Not stated on the VLB page |
Because program interest rates are set daily and funding rules vary by location, buyers apply through a participating lender. Our team helps Texas first responders check eligibility, compare Texas home loan options, and get connected with the right path.
Homes for Texas Heroes: Statewide Help for Public Safety
Run by the Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation (TSAHC), Homes for Texas Heroes is the flagship statewide homebuying program for Texas public servants. It provides a 30-year fixed-rate first mortgage paired with down payment and closing cost assistance, higher county income limits than TSAHC's standard Home Sweet Texas Home Loan Program, and a fee waiver on TSAHC's Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) when paired with Non-Bond down payment assistance.
Eligible First Responder and Public Safety Professions
According to TSAHC's program guidelines (revised September 9, 2026), applicants must be employed full-time in one of the following roles. Borrowers must live in Texas or show intent to become residents, and people not yet living in Texas who have accepted a job in an eligible profession qualify.
- Peace Officer: A full-time peace officer elected, employed, or appointed under Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Art. 2.12, Education Code §51.212 or §51.214, or other law, licensed through the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE).
- Fire Fighter: A permanent, full-time fire department employee performing a function listed in Texas Government Code §419.021(3)(C), including fire suppression, fire inspection, fire and arson investigation, marine firefighting, aircraft rescue and firefighting, fire training, fire education, or fire administration. Secretaries, clerks, budget analysts, and similar support or administrative staff are excluded.
- Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Personnel: Full-time emergency care attendants, EMTs, EMT-Intermediates, EMT-Paramedics, or licensed paramedics as defined under Health and Safety Code §773.003.
- Corrections Officer: A full-time Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) employee who receives hazardous duty pay.
- Juvenile Corrections Officer: A full-time Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) employee who receives hazardous duty pay.
- County Jailer: A full-time county jail guard employed under Local Government Code §85.005 and licensed through TCOLE.
- Public Security Officer: A full-time armed security officer employed or appointed by the state or a political subdivision of the state and licensed through TCOLE. Officers employed by private security contractors do not qualify.
- Other Eligible Heroes Roles: Full-time public K-12 classroom teachers, teacher aides, school librarians, school counselors, and school nurses; full-time nursing or allied health faculty at higher education institutions; and eligible veterans, including active-duty service members at a Texas military base or facility who have designated Texas as their home of record.
Hospital registered nurses (outside of public K-12 school nurses and nursing faculty) and licensed social workers do not qualify for Homes for Texas Heroes, as 2025 bills to add them (SB 536 and SB 845) were left pending in committee. Those buyers can still use TSAHC's Home Sweet Texas Home Loan Program or TDHCA's My First Texas Home Program and My Choice Texas Home Program.
How TSAHC Down Payment Assistance Works
Homes for Texas Heroes offers three down payment assistance (DPA) structures, plus a No-DPA rate option. Which assistance structure you can choose depends on whether you use an FHA loan, VA loan, USDA loan, or HFA conventional loan (Fannie Mae HFA Preferred or Freddie Mac HFA Advantage):
- Non-Bond Grant (FHA, VA, or USDA only): 2%, 3%, 4%, or 5% of the total loan amount, with no second lien recorded. TSAHC's guidelines state that the grant "does not need to be repaid after six months" from the first-lien closing date. TSAHC does not explain that six-month condition in detail, so ask a participating lender how it applies to you.
- Non-Bond 3-Year Deferred Forgivable Second Lien (All eligible loan types, including HFA conventional): 2%, 3%, 4%, or 5% of the total loan amount as a 0% interest second lien with no monthly payments. It is forgiven in full on the third anniversary of the promissory note (not pro-rated), and is repaid in full only if you sell, transfer, refinance, pay off the first mortgage, or stop occupying the home during the first three years.
- Bond 30-Year Deferred Repayable Second Lien (FHA, VA, or USDA only, when available): 4% or 5% of the total loan amount at 0% interest with no monthly payments. It is not forgivable and must be repaid upon sale, transfer, refinance, payoff, or maturity. It is limited to first-time buyers at or below 80% of Area Median Family Income (AMFI), with the first-time requirement waived in Targeted Areas and for qualified veterans.
Minimum credit scores are 620 for FHA, VA, and USDA loans (640 for manufactured homes and FHA manual underwriting, which caps debt-to-income at 45%) and 640 for HFA conventional loans. With automated underwriting approval, TSAHC sets no maximum debt-to-income (DTI) ratio. Credit scores of 620 to 639 on government loans carry a 0.25% origination charge.
2026 County Income Limits and the Free MCC Benefit
When you use Homes for Texas Heroes with Non-Bond DPA or No DPA (without an MCC), there is no first-time homebuyer requirement, no purchase price limit, and only the qualifying income of the borrowers on the loan application counts. Below are current published examples from TSAHC's county income limits tool (confirm current figures with a participating lender, as limits can update):
| County | Heroes Non-Bond / No-DPA Income Limit (Gov't or Conv. Above 80% AMFI) | Home Sweet Texas Non-Bond Limit (Comparison) | Heroes + MCC Income Limit (1–2 Person / 3+ Person Household) | Bond DPA & Non-Targeted MCC Purchase Price Limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harris, Fort Bend, Montgomery | $176,800 | $156,000 | $104,000 / $119,600 | $566,355 |
| Dallas, Collin, Denton | $205,870 | $181,650 | $121,100 / $139,265 | $589,596 |
| Tarrant | $187,510 | $165,450 | $110,300 / $126,845 | $589,596 |
| Bexar | $178,339 | $157,358 | $104,905 / $120,641 | $583,581 |
| Travis, Williamson | $228,480 | $201,600 | $134,400 / $154,560 | $598,019 |
| El Paso, Hidalgo | $172,550 | $152,250 | $101,500 / $117,180 | $566,355 |
First-time buyers (or qualified veterans and Targeted Area buyers) who meet the MCC income and purchase price limits can also add TSAHC's Mortgage Credit Certificate to a Non-Bond DPA or No-DPA loan. The MCC converts 15% of the annual mortgage interest you pay into a dollar-for-dollar federal income tax credit (up to your annual tax liability, with no $2,000 cap). For Homes for Texas Heroes borrowers pairing Non-Bond DPA with an MCC, TSAHC waives the $400 MCC issuance fee. See our full guide to Texas Homebuyer Income & Purchase Price Limits for more details.
Check Your Eligibility for Homes for Texas Heroes
HUD Good Neighbor Next Door (GNND): 50% Off HUD Homes
If you are a police officer, sheriff's deputy, state trooper, firefighter, or EMT willing to buy a HUD-acquired property in a designated revitalization area, HUD's Good Neighbor Next Door (GNND) Sales Program offers a 50% discount off the list price of the home.
Who Qualifies Under Federal Rules
Under 24 CFR Part 291 Subpart F, GNND is narrower than Homes for Texas Heroes. To qualify as a first responder, you must be employed full-time at the time you submit a bid and at closing, and your job must directly serve the locality where the home is located:
- Law Enforcement Officers: Employed full-time by a federal, state, local, or tribal law enforcement agency, and sworn to uphold and make arrests for violations of the law.
- Firefighters and EMTs: Employed full-time by a fire department or emergency medical services responder unit of the federal government, a state, a unit of general local government, or an Indian tribal government. (Because the employer must be a government unit, private ambulance or private EMS employers are not covered under the regulation.)
Full-time pre-K through 12 teachers at state-accredited public or private schools also qualify under GNND.
Program Rules, $100 Down, and the 36-Month Silent Second
- One-Year Ownership Rule: You do not need to be a first-time buyer under the three-year definition, but neither you nor your spouse may have owned any residential real property during the one year prior to submitting a bid, and neither may have previously bought a home through GNND or Officer/Teacher Next Door.
- How the 50% Discount Works: You sign a second mortgage and note payable to HUD for the 50% discount amount. You pay no interest and make no monthly payments on that second note, and HUD reduces the balance by 1/36th for every month you live in the home, releasing the lien after 36 months.
- $100 Down Payment: If you finance the purchase with an FHA-insured first mortgage, your required down payment is just $100.
- Occupancy and Employment Commitment: You must certify a good-faith intent to stay in your eligible public safety role for at least one year after closing, occupy the property as your sole residence for 36 months, and return HUD's annual occupancy certification.
- Lottery Bidding: Eligible single-unit homes in HUD revitalization areas are listed on HUDHomestore for 7 days. Bids must be submitted through a HUD-registered real estate broker during that 7-day lottery window; if multiple eligible bids arrive, HUD selects the winner by random lottery.
Eligible listings change weekly, and per HUD Homestore the 50% discount applies only during the 7-day lottery phase. Many buyers get pre-approved for a standard or TSAHC loan first so they are ready to bid when a home comes up.
City Programs for Texas First Responders
Beyond statewide and federal programs, some Texas municipalities offer homebuying assistance for their own public safety or city employees, while others offer general first-time homebuyer grants and programs that first responders can use.
San Antonio First Responder Housing Assistance Program (FRHAP)
According to the City of San Antonio's FRHAP and HOPE policy (effective October 1, 2023), the First Responder Housing Assistance Program is built specifically for San Antonio Police Department (SAPD) and San Antonio Fire Department (SAFD) uniformed employees and cadets:
- Assistance Amount: A 0% interest second loan of up to $20,000 for homes inside San Antonio city limits outside the Community Revitalization Action Group (CRAG) area, or up to $40,000 inside the CRAG area.
- 10-Year Forgiveness: One-tenth (10%) of the loan is forgiven after each full year of continued employment with the city over 10 years. If employment ends early, the unforgiven balance becomes due.
- No Income or Price Caps: San Antonio's policy sets no program limits on household income, qualifying ratios, or purchase price.
- Buyer & Loan Requirements: Buyers must be first-time homebuyers or have had no ownership in the prior 3 years, contribute at least $500 in earnest money, complete an 8-hour HUD-approved homebuyer course, and use a fixed-rate FHA 203(b), VA, or conventional first mortgage. Owner-financed or rent-to-own deals are not eligible.
- Tax Withholding & Funding Status: Under the city's policy, funds received are considered income and appropriate federal withholding tax is applied. Funding is "subject to availability," and current funding status is not confirmed, so SAPD and SAFD buyers should confirm active funding status with San Antonio's Neighborhood and Housing Services Department or a participating lender before applying. Full-time civilian city employees have a sister track called HOPE with the same loan structure. See our San Antonio Homebuyer Assistance Programs (2026) guide for more local options.
Frisco Targeted Down Payment Assistance
First responders and other employees of the City of Frisco or Frisco ISD may qualify for the city's Targeted Down Payment Assistance program:
- Who Qualifies: At least one adult in the household must have worked full-time for the City of Frisco (or Frisco ISD) for at least 6 months, with combined adult household income up to $150,212. Applicants are generally first-time homebuyers and must complete an 8-hour HUD class plus a 1-hour counseling session.
- Assistance & Price Cap: A forgivable loan of up to $10,000 for down payment and closing costs on homes inside Frisco with a maximum sales price of $563,500. The city notes that this assistance can be combined with other first-time buyer programs.
Other Major Texas Metro Areas
- Dallas: The City of Dallas previously offered a "Targeted Occupations" track under the Dallas Homebuyer Assistance Program (DHAP) for police, firefighters, healthcare workers, and teachers at 80%–120% AMI, but that track is closed with all funding expended. Dallas first responders who meet the standard 80% AMI limits ($96,900 for a 4-person household) can still check the general DHAP track administered by BCL of Texas, which offers up to $50,000 ($60,000 in High Opportunity Areas). The city's page lists a $342,000 sales price cap, while BCL's page states no cap, so confirm the current limit.
- Houston & Austin: The general Houston Homebuyer Assistance Program is currently paused with funds exhausted. Austin first responders at or below 80% MFI can explore general Austin Down Payment Assistance, and buyers anywhere in Travis County can look at Travis County HFC's Hill Country Home DPA (income up to 140% AMI, or $138,460, with 4% to 6% as a 0% interest, 10-year forgivable second mortgage).
See Which Texas First Responder Programs You Qualify For
VA and Texas VLB Loans for Veterans in Public Safety
If you have served in the military, you have three options worth comparing in Texas:
- VA Home Loans in Texas: Eligible veterans and service members can use a VA first mortgage, including with TSAHC's down payment assistance (see below).
- Texas Veterans Land Board Home Loan (VHAP): The Texas VLB Veterans Housing Assistance Program offers 15-, 20-, 25-, or 30-year fixed-rate home loans up to $832,750, with a discounted rate for veterans who have a 30% or higher service-connected disability. A GLO press release says VHAP can be used with VA, FHA, or conventional financing through a VLB participating lender.
- Homes for Texas Heroes Veteran & Public Safety Perks: Veterans qualify for Homes for Texas Heroes regardless of their civilian job, and "Qualified Veterans" (under 38 U.S.C. §101) are exempt from the first-time homebuyer rule when using TSAHC's Mortgage Credit Certificate or Bond DPA. After closing, eligible disabled veterans can also apply for the Texas Disabled Veteran Property Tax Exemption alongside the general Texas Homestead Exemption.
Can You Stack First Responder Programs in Texas?
Yes, in specific combinations allowed by the programs and the loan servicer. Here is what the official program rules allow:
- Homes for Texas Heroes Non-Bond DPA + Free MCC: First-time buyers (and qualified veterans) within the MCC income and purchase price limits can pair TSAHC's 2%–5% Non-Bond grant or 3-year forgivable second lien with a 15% Mortgage Credit Certificate, with the $400 MCC issuance fee waived.
- Homes for Texas Heroes + Local City/County DPA: According to TSAHC's guidelines (§3.4), other subsidy programs may be layered with TSAHC if they meet FHA/VA/USDA/agency and Lakeview Loan Servicing guidelines. TSAHC says its No-DPA option can be combined with city or county DPA programs, and with TSAHC's grant (which has no second lien), second-lien assistance from other sources may be allowed in certain cases. Frisco's Targeted DPA, for example, says it can be combined with other first-time buyer programs.
- VA Loan + Homes for Texas Heroes: A veteran working in public safety can pair a $0-down VA first mortgage with TSAHC's grant or 3-year forgivable second lien to cover closing costs and prepaid items (minimum 620 credit score required by TSAHC).
Because each program sets its own layering rules, ask a participating lender to confirm whether two specific programs can be combined before you sign a purchase contract.
Next Steps for Texas First Responders
Whether you are a patrol officer in Houston, a firefighter in San Antonio, a paramedic in DFW, or a TDCJ corrections officer, the smartest move is to compare your net monthly payment and cash-to-close across a standard mortgage and a Homes for Texas Heroes package before you start house hunting. Review the general requirements to buy a house in Texas or our Texas FHA loan requirements to see what documents you will need.
You apply for these programs through a participating lender. Our team at Make Texas Your Home (Next Wave Mortgage, LLC) can help you check eligibility, compare your options, and get connected.
Ready to Get Started?
Check your eligibility in under 2 minutes. No credit pull, no obligation.
Get our Texas updates in your Google feed
Add Make Texas Your Home as a preferred source to see our rate, grant, and program updates more often in Google Search.